Day 14 – short stories on the brain

Today has been another refresher day which I sorely needed. I have had no work and no study to do so I slept in and had a bath. The cold is finally getting better…I think…

Short stories are on my mind at the moment. I feel a bit like I’m ready to try them again – I have, in the past, been terrible at them! “A 2,000-5,000 word story? I can do that!” 30,000 or more words later…oops… :\

So, I thought a good start might be to put some of my writing on here and I’ve started up an account on Wattpad as well so I will make some use of that with new stories I write as well as submitting some to competitions and magazines. My mum bought me a diary/journal where you have a question or writing prompt each day, so I’m going to start there and see if I can at least start off with Flash Fiction!

I have realised that this blog is indeed more than just finding my way to a completed Soul Wars* but its a journey for finding my writerly self and for discovering any story that I have in my head – there are a lot clamouring around in there and it would be good to get tgem out if only for a bit of peace and quiet. But, also, I’d like to share some of what I’ve learnt through my Bachelor, my Masters, courses taken at the SA Writers’ Centre, and extensive reading. So, tomorrow I’m planning to put up some Tips & Tricks on plotting that I’ve collected over the years, including a few bits that I’ve found for myself over the years.

Plotting for Unvamped 2* is also still going along nicely. Sometimes I get in the groove and feel I can just wing it, but sometimes I feel like I can’t move forward with my ideas until I do some more research. Its a very different process to Unvamped where it really all just flowed. But, that’s writing for you.

x iz

Leave a Reply

