Day 8 – a new week, a new me (complete with poll!)

This last week has seen some productivity, some rearranging of priorities and a settling in to more of a rhythm. I may not be any better at this blogging business, but I know what I want to acheive with this site/blog now and that makes me a bit more comfortable with my lesser abilities.

I’ve done a bit more work on Soul Wars*, I have a much better idea of where the middle is going – though I fear its going to turn into more of a saga than planned! – and have written a few more words on it. So hooray for some progress on Camp Nano! I still feel like there’s something missing from what I can see of this story. I don’t know what it is, but there seems to be a plot element I’m not seeing but that has already inserted itself into the story. Hopefully as I keep writing and planning, I shall find it! 🙂
I’m also energetically making up promotional materials I will need for an Unvamped launch in readiness for a release date (woot bookmarks!) and posters. Its probably the least productive thing I can be doing really, but it is tremendous fun! I just have to decide if I’m going to pay for the fonts the cover artist used so everything is aesthetically pleasing, or just match as best I can. What do you think?
After adding the word “poll” everywhere it is starting to look weird and wrong, so I’m going off to do something else now…
x iz
*working title
2 thoughts on “Day 8 – a new week, a new me (complete with poll!)

  1. If you can afford to buy the fonts, then go for it. The human eye can discern minor differences more astutely than we think.

    There’s research about robots being designed to look more and more like humans because we want them to look familiar – to a point. Once they start looking too much like us, we get very uncomfortable, because we notice the small differences as belonging to ‘the other’.

    The same process goes for recognition of patterns. If your readers associate a particular font with you, then something that almost matches will draw their attention to ‘the other’, even if they’re not aware of it, rather than where you want them to be focused.

    Them’s me thoughts on the matter. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Widdershins! That is awesome advice and a train of thought I hadn’t had. The font’s not ridiculously expensive, so I think I’ll go for it! Its great to connect to another EP author! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

