Day 4

Today was a bit of a bust in regards to writing, but I did get a good amount of reading done.

I have been lamenting my lack of ability to draw today. I have this great landscape in my head from [Soul Wars]* and I’d love to be able to actually see it, not just imagine it. I used to be a terrible drawer but decent copier of pictures – yet another thing I never fostered and now regret! Oh well, can’t spend all the time looking back, must push on!

Today was also spent thinking about writing styles. I read books and think how mature and sophosticated a lot of writers sound, then I read my work and think it sounds quite simple and basic in comparison. I’m not sure if this truly reflects my writing style, or I’m being hard on myself. I do know that there is plenty of room for simple writing in the market – I myself love a nice, easy to read story. To me the simplicity of the writing doesn’t denote a simple story, and maybe that’s what I have – a decent story and an easy to read way of telling it? It doesn’t feel much like that sometimes though. I feel like I have a simple story and no storytelling ability.

Oh well, so far, the search into how to ‘sophisticate’ my writing will need tp continue I suppose.

X iz

Leave a Reply

