Day 1

Blogs are hard. I’m new to this blog business and I worry I don’t know what I’m doing, which makes it hard to do things. But, still, cracking on!

Today has so far been spent on sorting out the finer points of the blog; how it looks, pictures I’m using, the about page, etc. I feel rather unproductive really, but have set this afternoon to actually finish the plan – I have written novels both with and without a plan and, for me, the plan is the way to go!

Specifically, I use what I call a Plot Arc Table. This is where I plan out what happens for each arc, chapter by chapter. I also add things like what time of the years it is, what the weather’s like, whose POV the chapter is from (if/when there are multiple POVs). At the moment, my Plot Arc Table looks like this (only, it’s wider and set out in more of a table format).

  P 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
TIMELINE
GENERAL HAPPENINGS
GEPHRYARC
SHELIMARC
(GIRL) ARC
ROMANCE ARC
THE CHRUCHARC

As I get the ideas down, I will start filling up each box of the table until they are all full. Some will only be filled with shading to signify that nothing happens for that arc in that chapter, but all the planning will be done. I find, this way, if I stick to the plan, I have less whole-story editing to do at the end and that is much less daunting.

I am off now to forage for food and get on with the planning!

iz

Leave a Reply

